My Retro Little Life

 

In this first blog entry I wanted to talk about me and the stuff I like to do so you all get to know me a little better .I’m an introverted girl who likes to daydream and believes she was born in the wrong era . I love everything from the 20’s to the 60’s ,life seemed so much simpler and better before technology took over and if I start talking about the fashion and glamour of those times this entry would be endless .

b91b8b25d7b20d609308120caedd4777-vert

One of the many things I enjoy doing is sewing my own clothes ,I like the freedom you have when going to the fabric shop and picking your own fabric ,I normally go to the store with an idea of what I want to sew in mind ,I picture the dress , top,skirt,etc and the fabric and color that would look good according to the design I want to make.I love the little details that you can incorporate in a garment to make it unique and only yours that’s why I would like to encourage people to sew their own garments ,it really pays off at the end you got clothes that will fit you better than anything you’ve ever buy and styles that scream, “you”! With all this being said doesn’t mean you have to make all these complicated patterns to make something unique,you can use the same pattern to sew many many things ,what you add or take off and as I stated before the little details is what makes the real difference when making your own garments.Of course there’s things to keep in mind like before sewing think of something you will really feel comfortable wearing for example if you don’t like showing cleavage it would be completely pointless to make a strappless dress or top ,this is one of the reasons why I started sewing because I never seemed to be completely happy with the clothing I bought ,I would always have fitting issues for being so petite and I refused to pay fortunes for petite clothes because for some reason petite clothes are usually more expensive than regular sizes ,another big issue I got was that all the clothes available at the store always showed too much or too little skin for my taste.So in addition if you decide start making your own clothes ,don’t give up ,there’s nothing easy at first ,it is perfectly fine to make mistakes so never beat yourself over it.There’s two key words to keep in mind when starting a new project ,patience and perseverance .

This is a dress I made last summer,and so far one of my favorites .

DSCF0511

There’s many other things I enjoy doing such as playing guitar and drawing,I haven’t done these in a while and I’m not an expert but I sure have a lot of fun doing them and I believe that’s all that matters in life , doing things you like doing ,nothing has to be perfect and you don’t need to be an expert at them,just be truthful to yourself and follow your heart and know your virtues and limitations.

Another one of my guilty pleasures is after a long day of work just come home in a cold day,or when I’m feeling blue is make a cup of coffee and curl up in my couch with my hubby and turn on a classic movie especially from the 30’s ,40’s ,50’s or 60’s ,these movies have the power to transport me to the era that I would have love to live in ,when people were gay instead of happy,everything was swell and girls dressed like ladies and put in the time and effort on pinning their hair before going to bed so their hair would be perfectly adorned with pin curls and victory rolls and their make up was simple but flawless and graceful and by saying this I don’t intend to put modern girls down ,this is my opinion only ,I believe everyone’s beautiful in their own way.I love Audrey Hepburn ,Bette Davis,Carole Lombard,Ginger Rogers , Betty Grable ,Grace Kelly ,Marilyn Monroe , Cary Grant and Frank Sinatra movies that’s only a portion of the classic actors I like, there’s many more that I can’t think of at the moment.

Annex+-+Monroe+Marilyn+How+to+Marry+a+Millionaire_02-tile

There’s something else that I surely enjoy .I really love going to thrift stores hunting for treasures ,this is something I haven’t done in a very long time,years to be exact .I used to go with my parents to different stores everyday ,It was just so amazing to browse through tons of stuff that you knew once was a part of someone elses story ,I hope that didn’t make me sound creepy or anything but to me thats what makes thrifting so interesting and exciting ,to be able to hold an item and wonder who it belonged to and to wonder and picture in your head how were the people that owned the object ,how did they look and if it held any important and special meaning to them and to know that this simple object has been in the life of people that you never got to meet , in the good and bad moments witnessing tears and smiles to stare at it and wonder why the previous owners decided to donate their once beloved items ,there’s a story behind each item that’s why thrifting is so thrilling to me .My goal is to collect more mid-century items ,at the moment I only own a couple .I’ll be doing my best to do this again.

article-0-1AA6C49B000005DC-572_634x639

Here’s a picture of my beautiful mid-century wall plaque dancers,I got these for a very reasonable price.

11111629_984411821592035_1371267536344352061_n

It was very nice to be able to share a little bit of my life with you in this entry,I’ll be publishing as much as possible,until next time.

                                                                Retro Baby Doll

Leave a Reply

